04 May 2012

South Africa: 2013 African Cup of Nations host cities announced

South Africa's Department of Sports and Recreation just announced that the host cities for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations* (Afcon) will be  Port Elizabeth/Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality (Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium), Rustenburg (Royal Bafokeng), Durban/eThekwini (Moses Mabhida Stadium) and Nelspruit/Mbombela (Mbombela Stadium). The opening and closing ceremonies of the 2013 Afcon will be played at Johannesburg's Soccer City, also known as FNB Stadium.
The cities of Polokwane, Kimberley, Bloemfontein/Mangaung and Cape Town will host the 2014 African Nations Championship (CHAN).
The 2013 Afcon will begin on 19 January 2013 and end on 10 February 2013, with 16 teams set to participate. The official draw for the AFCON 2013 finals will take place on 26 October 2012.

*The 2013 Africa Cup of Nations was scheduled to be hosted by Libya, but due to the civil war in the country the Confederation of African Football (CAF) decided to move the competition to South Africa.

No comments:

Post a Comment