04 August 2021

South African National Parks: 12 National Parks in South Africa will go cash-free from September 2021!

South African National Parks (SANParks) has announced that it will be going cash free from 01 September 2021. The cash free payment system will be implemented in a two-phased approach. Out of a total of 20 National Parks spread across the seven provinces of South Africa with the exception of KwaZulu-Natal and North West, 12 National Parks will go cash free from the the 2021/22 financial year (01 September 2021). The remaining national parks will be implementing the new system in the 2022/23 fiscal year.
According to SANParks' Chief Financial Officer, Dumisani Dlamini, cash will no longer be accepted as a method of payment and clients will be encouraged to make use of pre-booking payment systems and/or speed point payment systems. All trade and tourism activities will be cash free and therefore cash will not be accepted. Through the introduction of the cash free payment system SANParks aims to place an emphasis on minimising the risk associated with the handling of cash by staff. According to SANParks, it should also be improving customer convenience as the cash free payment system will reduce the contact time at entry points particularly during peak times.

The following 12 National Parks in South Africa will go cash free from 01 September 2021:

  1. Garden Route National Park (consisting of Knysna, Wilderness and Tsitsikamma)
  2. Agulhas National Park
  3. |Ai-|Ais/Richtersveld Transfrontier Park
  4. Namaqua National Park
  5. Table Mountain National Park
  6. Tankwa Karoo National Park
  7. West Coast National Park
  8. Mountain Zebra National Park
  9. Camdeboo National Park
  10. Addo Elephant National Park
  11. Mapungubwe National Park
  12. Golden Gate Highlands National Park

src.: sanparks.org

No comments:

Post a Comment