28 June 2011

The Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley has been added to the UNESCO World Heritage List

The UNESCO World Heritage Committee has inscribed the Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The lake system comprises three inter-linked relatively shallow lakes, namely Lake Bogoria, Lake Nakuru and Lake Elementaita. All lakes are located in the Rift Valley Province of Kenya and are covering a total area of 32,034 hectares.

View Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley in a larger map

The area around the three lakes is home to 13 globally threatened bird species and some of the highest bird diversities in the world. It is the single most important foraging site for the lesser flamingo anywhere, and a major nesting and breeding ground for great white pelicans. The area also features sizeable mammal populations, including black rhino, Rothschild's giraffe, greater kudu, lion, cheetah and wild dogs and is valuable for the study of ecological processes of major importance.

No comments:

Post a Comment