18 December 2014

Survey: South Africa is the most attractive tourist destination in Africa

According to the Bloom Consulting Country Brand Ranking Tourism Edition 2014/2015, South Africa is most attractive tourist destination in Africa. The country moved up four places from last year and was ranked 24th out of 193 countries in the survey. The Bloom Consulting Country Brand Ranking Tourism Edition 2014/2015 used the following metrics to determine its ranking: attraction of investment; attraction of tourism; attraction of talent; strengthening national pride; strengthening public diplomacy and  strengthening exports.
South Africa is the only African country in the global Top 25. Egypt follows on position 27, while Morocco (31) maintained its 3rd place position in Africa, ahead of Kenya (50) and Tanzania (66).

The (Southern & Eastern) African countries in the survey:

1. South Africa (World Rank 24.)
4. Kenya (50.)
5. Tanzania (66.)
6. Mauritius (72.)
8. Uganda (91.)
9. Ethiopia (92.)
10. Namibia (102.)
13. Zimbabwe (118.)
14. Seychelles (199.)
16. Madagascar (129.)
17. Botswana (132.)
18. Rwanda (137.)
20. Angola (140)
22. Mozambique (145.)
23. Zambia (151.)
31. Lesotho (171.)
32. Swaziland (172.)
33. Malawi (173.)

For more information about the Bloom Consulting Country Brand Ranking Tourism Edition 2014/2015, click here (pdf).

16 December 2014

South Africa: Free Summer 2014/15 digital edition of "Wild" out now!

The Summer 2014/15 digital edition of "Wild", Wild Card's free wildlife environment and travel magazine, is out since a couple of days and available for free on issuu. The new issue contains stories about secret hideaways on the Garden Route, drones and their possible role in capturing poachers or doing wildlife research, the eco-cabins at the Rocherpan Nature Reserve, Kruger's martial eagles, the new zipline in the Hottentots Holland Nature Reserve, great places to propose in South Africa, 4x4 day trails in the Mountain Zebra National Park and much more! Enjoy!

15 December 2014

South Africa's most punctual domestic airlines in November 2014

Airports Company South Africa (ACSA) has published the on-time performance results of domestic airlines’ flying out of OR Tambo in Johannesburg, Cape Town International Airport, and Durban's King Shaka International Airport in November 2014.
On-Time Performance is measured by comparing the actual off-block time (when aircraft pushes back) against the airline schedule time for a departing flight. The measurement is done in accordance with the IATA (International Airlines Transport Association) universal standard benchmark with considers a 15 minute deviation from the scheduled time as an on-time departure.

OR Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg - 15 Min on Time Performance November 2014 (airport target 87%)
  1. Airlink - 85.34% (October 90.28%)
  2. South African Airways - 85.11% (October 88.98%) 
  3. British Airways Domestic - 84.73% (October 88.80%)  
  4. FlySafair - 84.68% (October 86.78)
  5. Mango - 83.70% (October 85.94%)
  6. Kulula.com - 77.40% (October 86.02%)
  7. SA Express - 75.85% (October 75.53%)
Cape Town International Airport - 15 Min on Time Performance November 2014 (airport target 90%)
  1. Airlink - 94.64% (October 93.55%) 
  2. SA Express - 93.96% (October 96.25%)
  3. Mango - 90.71% (October 87.90%)
  4. British Airways Domestic - 89.56% (October 91.53%)
  5. South African Airways - 86.73% (October 88.45%) 
  6. Kulula.com - 86.08% (October 89.59%) 
  7. FlySafair - 85.91% (October 84.62)
King Shaka International Airport, Durban - 15 Min on Time Performance November 2014 (airport target 91%)
  1. SA Express - 92.25% (October 91.10%)
  2. South African Airways - 88.81% (October 90.84%) 
  3. Airlink - 87.93% (October 93.27%)
  4. Mango - 87.71% (October 88.42%) 
  5. British Airways Domestic - 86.78% (October 88.11%) 
  6. Kulula.com - 81.11% (October 86.88%)

Rough Guides: Johannesburg is the top city to visit 2015!

Rough Guides has named Johannesburg in South Africa the top city to visit in 2015 in its "The Rough Guide to 2015". According to the travel guidebook publisher, "Jo'burg has a reputation problem. But South Africa's biggest city is finally beginning to break free from the chains of its troubled past, and parts – like the arty Maboneng quarter – have rooted themselves as exciting cultural hubs. New clusters of forward-thinking museums, galleries and shops are set to emerge in 2015, though better-known attractions like Constitution Hill and the poignant Apartheid Museum should still be on the to-do list of any first-time visitor." (via Rough Guides)

Here's the full list of Rough Guides' Top 10 cities 2015:
  1. Johannesburg, South Africa
  2. Malaga, Spain
  3. New Orleans, USA
  4. Hamburg, Germany
  5. Nizwa, Oman
  6. Wellington, New Zealand
  7. Belgrade, Serbia
  8. Salta, Argentinia
  9. Birmingham, England
  10. Yangon, Myanmar

Air Namibia to connect Walvis Bay with Cape Town & Johannesburg!

Namibia's flag carrier, Air Namibia, will introduce direct flights between Walvis Bay Airport (WVB) in Walvis Bay and Cape Town International Airport (CPT) in Cape Town and between Walvis Bay Airport (WVB) and OR Tambo International Airport (JNB) in Johannesburg in April 2015. The two routes will initially be operated with a 37-seat Embraer ERJ 135. Also from April 2015, Air Namibia will increase its flights between Windhoek's Hosea Kutako International Airport (WDH) and Johannesburg from two to three weekly flights.

12 December 2014

Air Zimbabwe to resume flights to Masvingo and Chiredzi!

The national airline of Zimbabwe, Air Zimbabwe, will resume scheduled services between Harare International Airport (HRE) in Harare and Masvingo's Masvingo Airport (MVZ) via Buffalo Range Airport (BFO) in Chiredzi on 16 December 2014. The arline will operate two weekly flights - presumably on Tuesdays and Thursdays - on board a 52 seater Xian MA60 aircraft between the three destinations.
Air Zimbabwe earlier this year resumed flights to the northern resort town of Kariba as it part of plans to redevelop its domestic network.

South African Airways to launch daily flights to Abu Dhabi (UAE)

South Africa's national airline, South African Airways (SAA), and the flag carrier airline of the United Arab Emirates, Etihad Airways, have announced a major expansion of their strategic partnership. As part of the extended cooperation, SAA will launch a daily service on board an Airbus A330-200 aircraft between O.R Tambo International Airport (JNB) in Johannesburg and Abu Dhabi International Airport (AUH) in Abu Dhabi on 29 March 2015. South African Airways new service will complement Etihad Airways' existing flights between the two cities to offer a combined double-daily frequency on the route.
  • Johannesburg (JNB) 10:05 > 20:25 Abu Dhabi (AUH)
  • Abu Dhabi (AUH) 02:05 > 08:15 Johannesburg (JNB)
  • Johannesburg (JNB) 20:30 > 06:50 +1 Abu Dhabi (AUH)
  • Abu Dhabi (AUH) 09:30 > 16:05 Johannesburg (JNB)