08 July 2014

Botswana: Old family of coins to be demonetised with effect from 28 August 2014

Botswana introduced a new family of coin in February 2014. Travellers in Botswana should be aware that the old family of coin will be demonetised with effect from 28 August 2014. Thereafter, the old coins will be exchanged only at the Bank of Botswana in Gaborone and Francistown for a period of five years until 28 August 2019. The government of Botswana requests the public to exchange old coins at commercial banks throughout the country before 28 August 2014.
Botswana's new family of coin has retained the seven denominations: 5 Pula, 2 Pula, 1 Pula, 50 thebe, 25 thebe, 10 thebe and 5 thebe.

Screenshot via Bank of Botswana (pdf)

No comments:

Post a Comment