09 October 2013

South Africa's Blue Flag beaches 2013/14

A total of 41 beaches in South Africa, along with five marinas, two whale-watching boats, one commercial boat and one private boat, awarded Blue Flag status by the 2013 International Blue Flag Jury. Five of the 41 beaches have provisional Blue Flag status pending a final assessment by 01 December 2013. Furthermore, seven additional beaches have been given Pilot Blue Flag Site status.
The Blue Flag is a certification issued by the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE) that a beach or marina meets its stringent standards. The main criterias include standards for water quality, safety, environmental education and information, the provision of services and general environmental management criteria. The Blue Flag is sought for beaches and marinas as an indication of their high environmental and quality standards.

Blue Flag beaches in South Africa 2013/14:

KwaZulu Natal
» Umhlatuze Municipality
1. Alkantstrand Beach
» Hibiscus Coast Municipality
2. Umzumbe Beach
3. Southport Beach
4. Lucien Beach (Margate)
5. Trafalgar Beach
6. Marina Beach

Eastern Cape
» Ndlambe Municipality
7. Kleinemond Beach - provisional (Port Alfred)
8. Kelly's Beach (Port Alfred)
9. Kariega Beach (Kenton-on-Sea)
10. Kenton-on-Sea Middle Beach provisional (Kenton-on-Sea)
11. Boknes Beach (provisional)
» Nelson Mandela Metro Municipality/Port Elizabeth
12. King's Beach(Port Elizabeth)
13. Humewood Beach (Port Elizabeth)
» Kouga Municipality
14. Dolphin Beach(Jeffrey's Bay)

Western Cape
» Bitou Municipality
15. Nature's Valley Beach (Natures Valley)
16. Keurboomstrand
17. Robberg V Beach (Plettenberg Bay)
» Knysna Municipality
18. Brenton Beach (Knysna)
19. Buffalo Bay Beach (Knysna)
» Eden District Municipality/SANParks
20. Wilderness Beach (Wilderness)
» Mossel Bay Municipality
21. Klein Brak Beach (Mossel Bay)
22. Hartenbos Beach (Mossel Bay)
23. De Bakke Beach (Mossel Bay)
24. Santos Beach (Mossel Bay)
» Hessequa Municipality
25. Gouritsmond Beach - provisional (Stillbaai)
26. Lappiesbaai Beach (Stillbaai)
27. Preekstoel Beach - provisional (Stillbaai)
28. Witsand Beach (Witsand)
» Overstrand Municipality
29. Grotto Beach (Hermanus)
30. Hawston Beach (Hermanus)
31. Kleinmond Beach (Kleinmond)
» City of Cape Town Municipality
32. Bikini Beach (Cape Town)
33. Mnandi Beach (Cape Town)
34. Strandfontein Beach (Cape Town)
35. Muizenberg Beach (Cape Town)
36. Llandudno Beach (Cape Town)
37. Camp's Bay Beach (Cape Town)
38. Clifton IV Beach (Cape Town)
39. Silverstroom Beach (Cape Town)
» Matzikama Municipality
40. Strandfontein Beach (Strandfontein)

Northern Cape
» Richtersveld Municipality
41. Mac Dougall's Bay Beach (Port Nolloth)

Pilot Blue Flag Sites in South Africa 2013/14:

KwaZulu Natal
» Hibiscus Coast Municipality

Ramsgate Beach (Margate)
» Ethekwini Municipality/Durban
Umdhloti Main Beach
Umdhloti Tidal Pool Beach
Umgababa (Durban)

Eastern Cape
» Ngqushwa Municipality

Hamburg Beach (Hamburg)
» Nelson Mandela Metro Municipality
Hobie Beach (Port Elizabeth)
Blue Flag Marinas in South Africa 2013:

Eastern Cape
» Ndlambe Municipality 

- Royal Alfred Marina, Port Alfred

Western Cape
» Knysna Municipality

- Thesen Islands
» City of Cape Town Municipality
- False Bay Yacht Club
- Granger Bay Water Club
» Saldanha Municipality
- Yachtport
Blue Flag Whale-watching Boats in South Africa 2013/14:

- Whale Whisperer - Gansbaai (Marine Dynamics)
- Damara, Gaia - Plettenberg Bay (Ocean Blue Adventures)

Blue Flag Commercial Boats in South Africa 2013/14:

- Robberg Express - Plettenberg Bay (Offshore Adventures)

Blue Flag Private Boats in South Africa 2013/14:

- Yacht Fling - Port Elizabeth

No comments:

Post a Comment