31 August 2011

South Africa revises Yellow Fever policy

update (10 Feb 2012): South Africa's Department of Health has added Eritrea to list of countries requiring vaccination against yellow fever. As of 01 January 2012, all travellers from Eriteria are required to show proof of vaccination upon entry into South Africa.

The South African Department of Health has made amendments to the yellow fever vaccination policy for travellers coming from yellow fever risk countries. As of 01 October 2011, all travellers coming from yellow fever risk countries will be required to show proof of yellow fever vaccination (unless in possession of a valid waiver certificate). [src.]

South Africa requires a valid yellow fever certificate from all citizens and non-citizens over one year of age:
  • travelling from a yellow fever risk country; or
  • having been in transit through a yellow fever risk country
South Africa will exercise the following measures to all travelers from yellow fever risk countries who are unable to produce a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate at the port of entry:
  • refuse entry; or
  • quarantine until their certificate becomes valid, or for a period of not more than six days; or
  • those with an exemption certificate due to medical reasons will be allowed entry and required to report any fever or other symptoms to the health authorities and be placed under surveillance.
Definition of a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate: vaccination should be approved by the World Health Organisation (WHO), and administered at a Yellow fever-approved vaccination centres at least 10 days before departure to South Africa. The vaccine offers protection 10 days after administration. If vaccination is administered less than 10 days before departure, the above-mentioned measures will be applied.

List of countries for which a yellow fever vaccination certificate is required for entry into South Africa:
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Colombia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guyana
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea 
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe 
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Togo
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia

No comments:

Post a Comment