03 November 2021

South Africa's Blue Flag beaches, boats & marinas 2021/22!

A total of 51 beaches in South Africa, along with four sustainable tourism boats and five marinas have been awarded full Blue Flag status by the 2021/22 International Blue Flag Jury. The Western Cape has achieved the highest number of Blue Flag sites, with 36 beaches, all four boats and four of the five Blue Flag marinas. The Eastern Cape has been awarded one Blue Flag marina site, as well as six Blue Flag beaches. KwaZulu-Natal has been awarded nine Blue Flag beaches.
The Blue Flag programme also allows for potential Blue Flag sites to participate in the Pilot Programme. Thirty-three Pilot beach sites (Western Cape: two beaches; Eastern Cape: ten beaches; KwaZulu-Natal: 21 beaches) were recognized this year for their efforts toward reaching Blue Flag status in the near future. With a national goal of 100 Blue Flag sites by 2030, all efforts are now focused on assisting these pilot sites to become fully awarded with the Blue Flag.

Photo by Sebastian Canaves on Unsplash

Western Cape Blue Flag beaches:

  1. Cape Town - Silwerstroomstrand  
  2. Cape Town - Clifton 4th  
  3. Cape Town - Camps Bay  
  4. Cape Town - Llandudno  
  5. Cape Town - Muizenberg  
  6. Cape Town - Strandfontein  
  7. Cape Town - Mnandi
  8. Cape Town - Bikini
  9. Cape Town - Melkbosstrand
  10. Cape Town - Fishhoek  
  11. Kleinmond (Overstrand Municipality) - Kleinmond  
  12. Hermanus (Overstrand Municipality) - Hawston  
  13. Hermanus (Overstrand Municipality) - Grotto
  14. Hermanus (Overstand Municipality) - Onrus
  15. Pearly Beach (Overstrand Municipality) - Castle Beach
  16. Struisbaai (Cape Agulhas Municipality) - Struisbaai
  17. Stilbaai (Hessequa Municipality) - Lappiesbaai   
  18. Stilbaai (Hessequa Municipality) - Preekstoel
  19. Stilbaai (Hessequa Municipality) - Stilbaai Wes
  20. Stilbaai (Hessequa Municipality) - Jongensfontein
  21. Witsand (Hessequa Municipality) - Witsand  
  22. Gouritsmond (Hessequa Municipality) - Gouritsmond
  23. Mossel Bay - Santos  
  24. Mossel Bay - De Bakke
  25. Mossel Bay - Hartenbos   
  26. Mossel Bay - Klein Brak
  27. Mossel Bay - Glentana
  28. Wilderness (Garden Route District & George Municipality) - Wilderness
  29. Knysna - Brenton-on-Sea
  30. Knysna - Buffalo Bay
  31. Keurboomstrand (Bitou Municipality) - The Waves
  32. Keurboomstrand (Bitou Municipality) - The Dunes  
  33. Natures Valley (Bitou Municipality) - Nature's Valley
  34. Plettenberg Bay (Bitou Municipality) - Lookout  
  35. Plettenberg Bay (Bitou Municipality) - Singing Kettle
  36. Plettenberg Bay (Bitou Municipality) - Robberg 5

Western Cape Blue Flag marinas:

  1. Knysna - Thesen Islands (Home Owners)   
  2. Knysna - Thesen Islands (Thesen Harbour Town)   
  3. Cape Town - V&A Waterfront  
  4. Gordon's Bay - Harbour Island   

Western Cape Blue Flag boats:

  1. Plettenberg Bay (Offshore Adventures) - Robberg Express
  2. Plettenberg Bay (Offshore Adventures) - Oceanic Express
  3. Van Dyks Bay (White Shark Ventures) - Megalodon I
  4. Van Dyks Bay (White Shark Ventures) - Megalodon II

Eastern Cape Blue Flag beaches:

  1. Hamburg (Amathole Municipality) - Hamburg
  2. Gqeberha/Port Elizabeth (Nelson Mandela Municipality) - Humewood
  3. Gqeberha/Port Elizabeth (Nelson Mandela Municipality) - King's
  4. Gqeberha/Port Elizabeth (Nelson Mandela Municipality) - Hobie
  5. Kenton-on-Sea (Ndlambe Municipality) - Kariega
  6. Port Alfred (Ndlambe Municipality) - Kelly's

Eastern Cape Blue Flag Marina:

  1. Port Alfred (Ndlambe Municipality) - Royal Alfred  

KwaZulu Natal Blue Flag beaches:

  1. Hibiscus Coast (Ray Nkonyeni Municipality) - Marina  
  2. Hibiscus Coast (Ray Nkonyeni Municipality) - Trafalgar
  3. Hibiscus Coast (Ray Nkonyeni Municipality) - Southport
  4. Hibiscus Coast (Ray Nkonyeni Municipality) - Umzumbe
  5. Hibiscus Coast (Ray Nkonyeni Municipality) - Hiberdene
  6. Hibiscus Coast (Ray Nkonyeni Municipality) - Ramsgate
  7. Durban (Ethekwini Municipality) - Ushaka
  8. Durban (Ethekwini Municipality) - Durban North Beach
  9. Durban (Ethekwini Municipality) - Point

Blue Flag is a certification issued by the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE) that a beach or marina meets its stringent standards. The main criterias include standards for water quality, safety, environmental education and information, the provision of services and general environmental management criteria. Blue Flag is sought for beaches and marinas as an indication of their high environmental and quality standards. In South Africa, the first country outside Europe to be granted Blue Flag accreditation for its beaches, the Blue Flag programme is managed by WESSA (Wildlife and Environment Society of South Africa) in partnership with participating coastal municipalities.

No comments:

Post a Comment