14 May 2013

Video: Discovering the Cape West Coast (South Africa)

South Africa's Cape West Coast stretches over 400 km along the country's coastline and covers six different regions, namely Swartland (Darling), Peninsula (Langebaan), Bergrivier (Velddrif), Cederberg (Lamberts Bay, Wupperthal), Matzikama (Strandfontein) and the Hardeveld (Bitterfontein). The Cape West Coast is a region of contrast and beauty, which is offering the visitor all kinds of tourist highlights. The seafood lover will find some of the best fish and crayfish South Africa has, the sports enthusiast will be busy exploring the various hiking trails and mountain bike routes, while other will be exploring the Langebaan Lagoon on their kiteboards, surfboards or waterskies. If you like birding, Lamberts Bay and its Bird Island Nature Reserve will be your hotspot along the coast. If you want to know more about South Africa's Cape West Coast, watch the video below! Enjoy and safe travels!

South Africa's Namaqualand lies within the Namakwa District Municipality and forms part of Northern Cape Province. Don't miss it between early August and late September for the annual flower season!   

btw - if you need new shoes, make your way to Wupperthal in the Cederberg mountains and get some handsewn veldskoen (traditional soft suede shoes) in the historic shoe factory, founded by 1836 by Johann Gottlieb Leipoldt, grandfather of the famous South African poet C. Louis Leipoldt.

No comments:

Post a Comment