06 October 2010

Did you know that Mount Kilimanjaro has three peaks?

Mount Kilimanjaro, actually a stratovolcano, is composed of three distinct volcanic cones - Kibo 5,895m, Mawenzi 5,149m and Shira 3,962 m. Uhuru Peak on Kibo's crater rim is the mountain's highest summit. Mawenzi and Shiba are already extinct while Kibo is still dormant and could erupt again. Mt. Kilimanjaro is the highest mountain in Africa and fourth highest of the Seven Summits. It is the tallest freestanding mountain in the world, as well as the 4th most prominent mountain in the world.

Kilimanjaro Timelapse from Adolfo on Vimeo.
The name Kilimanjaro has no certain origin, but one of the most popular theory is that it comes from the words Kilima (swahili, meaning "mountain") and Njaro (kichagga, loosely translated as "whiteness"). Kilima Njaro could be translated as White Mountain which might be refferring to the shiny snow on the peak of the mountain.

No comments:

Post a Comment