04 February 2015

South Africa updates yellow-fever requirements

All travellers arriving into South Africa from Zambia, Tanzania, Eritrea, Somalia as well as from Sao Tome and Principe will no longer have to produce a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate when they arrive in South Africa. All five countries have recently been declared as "low risk yellow fever countries" by the World Health Organisation (WHO). Yellow fever is a tropical virus disease that can affect the liver and kidneys, causing fever and jaundice and is often fatal. It is transmitted by mosquitoes.
South Africa requires a valid yellow fever certificate from all citizens and non-citizens over one year of age:
  • travelling from a yellow fever risk country; or
  • having been in transit through a yellow fever risk country
List of countries for which a yellow fever vaccination certificate is required for entry into South Africa [more info >>] :
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Colombia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Equatorial Guinea 
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guyana
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea 
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe 
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Togo
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia

No comments:

Post a Comment