17 November 2023

Durban: Swimming at five beaches is currently prohibited due to water quality!

The eThekwini Municipality, the local government body responsible for governing and managing Durban in KwaZulu-Natal, has released updated lists of beaches that are currently (as of 16 November 2023) open and safe for swimming, closed for swimming and of swimming pools that are currently open to the public. According to the lists, 18 beaches in Durban are currently open for swimming, while swimming at five beaches, namely Country Club, Thekwini Beach, Laguna Beach, Warner Beach and Anstey's Beach, is prohibited due to water quality. 32 swimming pools in Durban are currently open to the public.

The following beaches are open for swimming:
- operating hours 06:00 - 18:30 -

  1. Point
  2. uShaka
  3. Addington
  4. Wedge
  5. Battery Beach
  6. North Beach
  7. South Beach
  8. Bay of Plenty
  9. uMgababa
  10. Toti Main
  11. uMhlanga Main
  12. Bronze Beach
  13. Umdloti Main
  14. Westbrook
  15. Pipeline
  16. Reunion
  17. Brighton
  18. Winkelespruit

Beaches closed for swimming:

  1. Country Club
  2. Thekwini Beach
  3. Laguna Beach
  4. Warner Beach
  5. Anstey's Beach
Recreational activities other than swimming at beaches closed for swimming are allowed!


No comments:

Post a Comment