06 November 2013

Kenya, Uganda & Rwanda: Joint visa from January 2014

update (19 Feb 2014): The East Africa Tourism Platform (EATP), a recently established private sector body for tourism in East Africa, just posted on their Facebook page that during the 4th Summit of the Northern Corridor Integration Summit (20 Feb 2014, Kampala) the East African Tourist Visa will be officially launched.

update (07 Jan 2014):
The introduction of a common single tourist visa for foreign tourists coming to Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda has been postponed. No affirmative launch date has sofar been announced by the officials from the three countries. At current stage it is unclear if the new system is still being launched in January 2014 or at a later stage. We'll keep you posted!

update (14 Nov 2013): Info for South African travellers: South Africans don't need a visa for Rwanda and Kenya, so they will still need to apply for a single Uganda visa.

The East African countries of Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda will launch a new joint visa scheme for tourists and its citizens in January 2014. The East African Tourism visa will replace separate visas for the three countries. The new cross-border visa will cost visitors only $100 instead of three visas for $150.
Through the single travel document, Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda want to facilitate free movement of tourist and citizens alike and to boost tourism in the region. Tanzania has categorically stated that it will not be party to joint tourist visa agreement; Burundi is currently also not part of the new visa scheme. According to the Kenyan coordinator of the East African Tourism Platform, Waturi Matu, Tanzania and Burundi are free to join the East African Tourism visa at any time.

No comments:

Post a Comment