14 November 2014

Zimbabwe & Zambia: KAZA Visa roundup!

update (11 May 2015): Zambian Minister Of Tourism and Arts Jean Kapata said at a Ministerial round table discussion on the eve of Tourism Indaba 2015 in Durban, that the unvisa between Zimbabwe and Zambia has been successful and will be extended to Namibia, Botswana and Mozambique.

update (09 Feb 2015): The univisa for Zimbabwe and Zambia (KAZA Visa) is not available at Kariba, Chirundu and the Beitbridge border posts!

Zimbabwe and Zambia are going to introduce a joint visa scheme, the so-called KAZA Visa, at the end of November 2014 (28 Nov 2014?). The visa will allow travellers to visit both countries with just one visa.
  • the KAZA Visa will be availabe at:
  • the KAZA Visa will cost USD50
  • the KAZA Visa will last up 30 days as long as one remains within Zambia and Zimbabwe
  • the KAZA Visa also covers those who visit Botswana for day trips for the Kazungula borders
  • the following countries are eligible for the KAZA Visa:
    • Argentina, Germany, Poland, Austria, Greece, Portugal, Australia, Hungary, Puerto Rico, Brazil, Iceland, Russia, Britain (UK), Israel, Rwanda, Brunei, Italy, Slovakia Republic, Burundi, Japan, Slovenia Republic, Canada, Liechtenstein, Spain, Cook Islands, Luxembourg, Sweden, Czech Republic, Monaco, Switzerland, Denmark, Netherlands, U.A.E, Finland, New Zealand, Uruguay, France, Norway, USA
The common visa for Zimbabwe and Zambia is the pilot initiative for an UNIVISA covering all member states of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). If the pilot initiative of the KAZA Visa proves to be successful, Angola, Botswana and Namibia are going to become part of the joint visa scheme.* In stage three of the UNIVISA implementation process, the five countries will be joint by Mozambique, South Africa and Swaziland, before in stage four the remaining SADC countries, namely the DR of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Seychelles and Tanzania, are going to get covered the UNIVISA scheme.

*Zambia, Zimbabwe, Angola, Botswana and Namibia are the five countries that established the Kavango–Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area (KAZA) in in 2006.

No comments:

Post a Comment